SENATE MEMBERS

Robert Stivers President, LRC Co-Chair David Givens President Pro Tempore Damon Thayer Majority Floor Leader Gerald A. Neal Minority Floor Leader Julie Raque Adams Majority Caucus Chair Reginald Thomas

Minority Caucus Chair Mike Wilson Majority Whip David Yates Minority Whip



LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH COMMISSION

State Capitol 700 Capital Avenue Frankfort KY 40601

502-564-8100

Capitol Fax 502-564-2922 Annex Fax 502-564-6543 legislature.ky.gov

> Jay D. Hartz Director

MEMORANDUM

TO:	Members
	Interim Joint Committee on Appropriations and Revenue

- FROM:Jennifer C. Hays, Committee Staff AdministratorJennifer C. HaysAppropriations and Revenue Committee
- **DATE:** November 21, 2024
- **SUBJECT:** Staff to Staff Communication Justice and Public Safety Cabinet

Staff from the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet have communicated to staff in the Appropriation and Revenue Committee the agency's interpretation of when a certain report required within 2024 RS HB 6 is due. The language from HB 6 is:

Program Completion and Sentence Credit Payments: Notwithstanding KRS 197.045(6), payments for program completions resulting in sentencing credit shall not expire and shall continue through the 2024-2026 fiscal biennium. Included in the above General Fund appropriation is \$12,000,000 in each fiscal year to support payments for program completions resulting in sentencing credit as prescribed in KRS 197.045(6)(a), (b), and (c). The Department of Corrections shall prepare a report annually, including but not limited to the number of program completions, the cost of payments for each category of sentencing credit, and the programmatic impact on recidivism. The Department of Corrections shall submit this report to the Interim Joint Committee on Appropriations and Revenue by October 1 of each year. Notwithstanding KRS 45.229, any portion of General Fund not expended for this purpose shall lapse to the Budget Reserve Trust Fund Account (KRS 48.705).

The agency does not believe this report is due until October 1, 2025, for FY 25.

HOUSE MEMBERS

David W. Osborne Speaker, LRC Co-Chair **David Meade** Speaker Pro Tempore Steven Rudy Majority Floor Leader **Derrick Graham Minority Floor Leader** Suzanne Miles Majority Caucus Chair Cherlynn Stevenson Minority Caucus Chair Jason Nemes Majority Whip **Rachel Roberts** Minority Whip